The Oklahoma Standard Award

The Oklahoma Standard Award is presented by the Oklahoma City National Memorial & Museum to an individual that, through their personal and/or professional endeavors, exemplifies the Oklahoma Standard through Acts of Service, Honor, and Kindness.

“The importance of the Oklahoma Standard needs to spread across our state just like it did in 1995. We Oklahomans are known for our neighborly service to each other, and that must continue to be celebrated and taught as we move forward,” said Kari Watkins, Executive Director. “This gives us a chance to recognize great people from Hollis to Miami and from Guymon to Idabel.”

2018 Oklahoma Standard Award

U.S. Grant High School teacher, Drew Rhodes is a third generation Oklahoma teacher who is extremely passionate about leaving a lasting impact on his students through his teaching model, “Life is temporary – inspiration is forever.” He is most notably remembered by a student’s photo that went viral when U.S. Grant went into “Lockdown” after a former student was found inside the school with a gun in his backpack. Since the latch on his door was broken, Drew guarded the door with a chair and a piece of a broken desk – ready to put his life on the line for his students’ safety.

Beyond that, Drew understands the colossal importance of teaching the lessons learned from the bombing to children. He has been an integral part in developing new lesson plans that we use here at the Museum today and is quick to volunteer his time giving meaningful feedback to our educational programs.

We are pleased to present the 2018 Oklahoma Standard Award to Drew Rhodes!

Nominee Criteria

  • Be a living person
  • Reside in Oklahoma
  • Attend the Remembrance Ceremony on April 19th