The Oklahoma Standard® – Out of Tragedy, Courage

April 19, 1995, altered the face of Oklahoma – and the nation – forever. Despite this unspeakable tragedy, among the most lasting memories are the tenderness of the response. The people of Oklahoma banded together in a community-wide display of spontaneous altruism. Cars became ambulances. Strangers became neighbors. People donated the shoes off their feet. That spirit of generosity – of giving until there’s no more to give – has been part of the city’s DNA ever since it was founded. Visiting rescue workers and journalists called it the Oklahoma Standard.

The Oklahoma Standard Award

Inaugural award winner Katie Prior receives the OKStandard Award.

In partnership with the State Chamber of Oklahoma, we are in search of individuals who go above and beyond in their communities and deserve to be honored with the Oklahoma Standard Award. Through their Acts of Service, Honor, and Kindness, these individuals are shining examples of the Oklahoma Standard in their personal and/or professional endeavors. They are the unsung heroes of their community.



Commit Now

We ask that you commit Acts of Service, Honor, and Kindness.

  • Service means giving your time to someone in need.
  • Honor the victims and survivors of the 1995 bombing, by visiting the Memorial Museum, cheering at the Memorial Marathon or leaving a token of appreciation on a chair in the Memorial.
  • No Act of Kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.